Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Clearview 20, Lutheran West 5
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Monday, April 16, 2012

ROCKY RIVER -- 
Lutheran West was blown away by the visiting Clearview Clippers last night, falling behind 8-0 in the top of the first inning and never really participating in the game. 
Junior Tyler Cerny had the difficult task of starting the game in the gusting wind, and was not very effective, giving up 14 run on 10 hits. Cerny struggled all night with leaving his pitches up and Clearview was happy to capitalize. With the wind whipping straight out, high fly balls turned into towering doubles and triples. 
To make matters worse, LW’s outfielders turned in one of the worst fielding performances in recent history. Sure they dropped zero fly balls, but singles were routinely turned into triples as LW outfielders had balls bounce under, over, and through them as they took poor angles to hits. 
Seven of Cerny’s 14 runs were charged as unearned. 
Offensively LW posted five runs—including a modest three run rally in the fourth to cut the lead to 14-4, but a six run fifth inning off of sophomore Eric Szczepinski put the game away.
Junior Eric Lewis and senior Ricky Downer both hit triples for LW.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 3/30/12
W, 15-5
Mon 4/2/12
L, 7-0
Tue 4/3/12
L, 2-8
Wed 4/4/12
L, 10-0
Wed 4/11/12
L, 10-7
Thu 4/12/12
W, 11-10
Mon 4/16/12
L, 20-5
Wed 4/18/12
L, 16-6
Thu 4/19/12
L, 3-1
Fri 4/20/12
L, 11-7
2012 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!