Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Columbia 10, Lutheran West 0
By Elizabeth Petkac  
LutheranWest.com staff
Monday, May 5, 2014

COLUMBIA --  Columbia dominated the Lutheran West Longhorns, run ruling to shorten the game to six innings. Columbia’s pitcher K. Minerchick dominated on the mound striking out 13 players. Lutheran West was no match only accumulating two hits.
 
First up to bat, senior Maddie Jakabcic slammed a triple. Later in the game, junior Ali Silberhorn hit a single.  
 
Lutheran West did not do well defensively to make up for their shortage of hits. With four errors in the infield and many balls hit over the outfielders’ heads, the raiders scored 10 runs easily. Silberhorn pitched most of the game and received three strikeouts and no walks.
 
West was hoping to have at least a complete game, but could not succeed in that. They tried moving some positions around to hold Columbia in the sixth inning. Columbia had two people on base with two outs. The batter nailed one deep into right center bringing in the two on base, winning the game in the sixth inning.
 
Lutheran West falls to 4-6 on the season
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Wed 4/2/14
W, 7-4
Wed 4/9/14
W, 8-0
Thu 4/10/14
L, 13-0
Wed 4/16/14
L, 8-4
Thu 4/17/14
W, 5-4
Tue 4/22/14
L, 1-0
Wed 4/23/14
L, 7-1
Thu 4/24/14
L, 5-2
Fri 5/2/14
W, 17-13
Mon 5/5/14
L, 10-0
Tue 5/6/14
L, 12-2
Wed 5/7/14
W, 15-7
Thu 5/8/14
L, 5-1
2014 Coach Ellis Stevens
2013 through 2016
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!