Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Wellington 3, Lutheran West 2
By Elizabeth Petkac  
LutheranWest.com staff
Thursday, May 22, 2014

WELLINGTON --  With two unearned runs in the seventh inning, the Longhorns were defeated by Wellington in a key PAC-12 matchup. The Longhorns were ahead 2-1 in the bottom of the seventh with Wellington up to bat. A ball passed through the infield and a dropped fly ball led the Longhorns to give up three runs ending the game with a final score of 3-2.
 
Sophomore Emily Pierce started for the Longhorns with two strikeouts and three walks. Pierce started out rough, yet was able to finish the third inning preventing Wellington from scoring. Senior Emily Mystic relieved Pierce and kept Wellington off the bases until the seventh with three strikeouts.
 
Lutheran West’s offense was not on point today with the best hit being a double by sophomore Rachel O’Connor. Although Mystic had the farthest hit, she was tagged out at third because of a miscommunication between herself and Coach Stevens.
 
West has one game left in the season against Brooklyn next week. West’s record is 7-10 overall.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Wed 4/2/14
W, 7-4
Wed 4/9/14
W, 8-0
Thu 4/10/14
L, 13-0
Wed 4/16/14
L, 8-4
Thu 4/17/14
W, 5-4
Tue 4/22/14
L, 1-0
Wed 4/23/14
L, 7-1
Thu 4/24/14
L, 5-2
Fri 5/2/14
W, 17-13
Mon 5/5/14
L, 10-0
Tue 5/6/14
L, 12-2
Wed 5/7/14
W, 15-7
Thu 5/8/14
L, 5-1
Fri 5/9/14
W, 36-0
Mon 5/12/14
Postponed
Tue 5/13/14
L, 5-2
Wed 5/14/14
Postponed
Fri 5/16/14
Postponed
Mon 5/19/14
W, 9-8
Wed 5/21/14
L, 5-3
Thu 5/22/14
L, 3-2
Thu 5/29/14
L, 12-6
2014 Coach Ellis Stevens
2013 through 2016
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!