Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Wellington 15, Lutheran West 0
By Kristen Sedlak  
LutheranWest.com staff
Monday, April 30, 2012

WELLINGTON -- 
Perfect softball weather was the backdrop as the Lutheran West Longhorns faced the Wellington Dukes at Wellington.  Wellington, another in the set of quality programs that Lutheran West has to face in the brutal PAC-12, ran all over the Lady Longhorns and defeated them 15-0.
The Longhorns started off strong, getting their first two batters on base. Unfortunately, they were unable to push either runner across.   Wellington also countered by plating two runs in the first inning and took a quick 2-0 lead. Not to be discouraged, West managed to load the bases in the second inning, but again left the runners stranded.  That would be the end of the Longhorn's push to put numbers on the board as their bats fell quiet while they watched the Dukes extend their lead to 5-0 after two innings, 8-0 after three innings, and 15-0 after five. Wellington’s offense totaled two home runs and seven doubles in the game.
Lutheran West only had four hits—but two from junior Jessica Mecklenburg who collected her first varsity multi-hit game. It was the first time had been shut out all year.
Still missing sophomore Emily Mystic who is recovering from a concussion, freshman Aly Silberhorn pitched and took the loss.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Mon 4/2/12
L, 20-2
Wed 4/4/12
L, 4-3
Wed 4/11/12
L, 4-2
Thu 4/12/12
L, 14-3
Mon 4/16/12
L, 4-2
Tue 4/17/12
L, 8-1
Wed 4/18/12
L, 7-2
Mon 4/23/12
L, 14-1
Tue 4/24/12
W, 24-0
Wed 4/25/12
W, 10-8
Thu 4/26/12
L, 15-1
Mon 4/30/12
L, 15-0
Tue 5/1/12
L, 8-4
Wed 5/2/12
W, 6-5
Thu 5/3/12
L, 13-0
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!