Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 11, Columbia 0
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Friday, May 4, 2018   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  Lutheran West and senior Rory Zakareckis (W, 4-1) dominated the Columbia Raiders on Friday in a game that lasted only 59 minutes to play.  Lutheran West jumped all over Columbia starter Jacob Aniol for seven runs in the first inning and never looked back. 

Senior Jeremy Geye started the game off with a double in the left-center gap.  After an infield single from senior Michael Berghaus and an error on a ground ball by senior Owen Albers to load the bases, all three runners scored on a triple by senior Alex Gavlak.  A walk to junior Jake Albrecht and a double steal brought Gavlak home from third.  Sophomore Hunter Albers then singled in Albrecht from second to make the score 5-0.  Freshman Trey DeCicco singled, and Geye brought both Albers and DeCicco home on a double to make the score 7-0.

Hunter Albers, Geye and Berghaus all scored in the third to make it 10-0.  The big hit was a two-out, two-RBI single from Zakareckis.

Junior John Smolik knocked in the eleventh run of the day when he singled in Albrecht and hit a double in his at-bat in the fourth.

On the mound, Zakareckis was in fine form.  Columbia’s offense managed only five balls out of the infield: two singles, and the three weak fly-outs.  No Columbia player ever made it to third base.  And only once (with two outs in the fifth) did any Raider player make it to second. One pitch later, the game was over.  It took Zakareckis only 46 pitches to shut down the Raiders for the mercy-rule shortened complete-game win.
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 3/27/18
L, 15-4
Wed 3/28/18
L, 10-2
Tue 4/10/18
W, 10-6
Wed 4/11/18
L, 11-1
Thu 4/12/18
W, 12-2
Fri 4/13/18
L, 3-2
Sat 4/14/18
W, 7-2
Thu 4/19/18
W, 11-1
Fri 4/20/18
W, 15-2
Mon 4/23/18
W, 9-7
Tue 4/24/18
W, 11-1
Thu 4/26/18
L, 1-0
Mon 4/30/18
W, 3-1
Tue 5/1/18
W, 17-14
Wed 5/2/18
L, 14-11
Thu 5/3/18
L, 13-2
Fri 5/4/18
W, 11-0
Mon 5/7/18
L, 16-4
Wed 5/9/18
W, 28-0
Thu 5/10/18
W, 8-3
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2018 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2018 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!