Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Clearview 14, Lutheran West 11
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Wednesday, May 2, 2018   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  In a game with major PAC-12 Stripes Division implications, the Longhorns lost to Clearview in a wild game at Lutheran West on Wednesday.  The Longhorns came back from being down 9 runs in the bottom of the sixth to tie the game in the seventh only to lose it in the eighth.

West had a tremendous opportunity to win the game in the bottom of the seventh.  With the bases loaded and only one out, senior Owen Albers walked to tie the game at 11.  But neither of Lutheran West’s next two batters-senior Rory Zakareckis and senior Alex Gavlak-was able to put a ball in play and senior Jeremy Geye who represented the winning run was stranded on third base, ninety feet away.

Junior Longhorn ace John Smolik was dealing early, and Lutheran West and Clearview were tied at two in the fifth inning.  Smolik ran out of gas in the fifth inning, however, and Clearview scored five runs on four hits and three walks, throwing 45 pitches in the inning alone.  Clearview hit up Longhorn sophomore relief pitcher Jeremiah Stover for four more runs in the sixth to push the lead to 11-2.

During the fourth inning, however, Clearview ace Nate Cruz was ejected from the game for taunting Longhorn catcher Geye after he struck out. This ejection caused Clearview to go to their bullpen much earlier than they would have wanted, and after the Longhorn bats went quiet in the fifth, they exploded in the sixth.

A walk, a triple off the bat of Gavlak, another walk, an error, a double from sophomore Hunter Albers all before the first out, and LW had closed the gap to 11-5.  After a strikeout, a two run double from Geye closed it to 11-7. A ground out was followed by a single from Owen Albers, a double from Zakareckis, and a triple from Gavlak, and now the score was 11-10.

West kept the score tied in the top of the seventh but left the bases loaded after tying the score in the bottom of the seventh. The Clippers scored three runs in the top of the eighth on a walk, two infield errors, and a double.  West got two hits in the bottom of the eighth but couldn’t score thanks to a diving catch in the right-centerfield gap by Clearview’s centerfielder to rob freshman Trey DeCicco’s attempt to get the Longhorns back into the game and effectively end the game.
 
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 3/27/18
L, 15-4
Wed 3/28/18
L, 10-2
Tue 4/10/18
W, 10-6
Wed 4/11/18
L, 11-1
Thu 4/12/18
W, 12-2
Fri 4/13/18
L, 3-2
Sat 4/14/18
W, 7-2
Thu 4/19/18
W, 11-1
Fri 4/20/18
W, 15-2
Mon 4/23/18
W, 9-7
Tue 4/24/18
W, 11-1
Thu 4/26/18
L, 1-0
Mon 4/30/18
W, 3-1
Tue 5/1/18
W, 17-14
Wed 5/2/18
L, 14-11
Thu 5/3/18
L, 13-2
Fri 5/4/18
W, 11-0
Mon 5/7/18
L, 16-4
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2018 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2018 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!