Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 17, Fairview 14
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Tuesday, May 1, 2018   |  box score

FAIRVIEW --  As quickly paced and well-pitched as Monday’s game against Fairview was, the game against Fairview on Tuesday was the complete opposite.  On Monday, LW and Fairview combined for four runs and 11 hits.  On Tuesday the score was reminiscent of a football game as the Longhorns and Warriors scored 31 runs and collected 35 hits.  Fortunately for Longhorn fans, Lutheran West still ended up on the top, winning on Tuesday 17-14.  Monday’s game lasted 76 minutes.  Tuesday’s lasted just short of three hours.

West scored in every inning, and was only held to one run twice. The Longhorns totaled four doubles (senior Jeremy Geye, juniors Jake Albrecht and John Smolik, and sophomore Hunter Albers) and four triples (Geye, senior Alex Gavlak, and two from senior Rory Zakareckis). Geye ended up with four total hits and two RBIs, while Zakareckis had four hits as well and five RBIs.  Gavlak had three hits and three RBIs. Albrecht and sophomore Tyler Robinson each had two hits and an RBI as well.

The Longhorns were in control of the game more than the final score would suggest.  After falling behind 6-5 at the end of the third, the Longhorns took the lead for good with three runs in the top of the fourth.  With senior starting pitcher Owen Albers struggling with arm pain, West made the call from the varisty game at Bohlken Park over to the JV game at Lutheran West to get sophomore Ryan Szczepinski (W, 1-0).  Szczepinski jogged over to the varsity game and immediately was inserted into the game. 

Szczepinski worked a scoreless fourth and only allowed one run in the fifth after LW put up five more in the top of the inning to put the score at 13-7. When West scored three more in the top of the sixth, Szczepinski began to tire and allowed three runs to put the score to 16-10. Hoping to avoid using up more pitching, Longhorn Coach Trey Lamb sent Szczepinski back out for the seventh.  It didn’t last long as Szczepinski allowed four of the first five batters to reach before he was taken out.  Geye was brought in, and, after allowing a couple of meaningless base hits, finished the game with a strikeout and a ground out to Robinson at short stop to end the game.

West faces a challenging game tomorrow when they host Clearview with both teams tied atop the Stripes Division.
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 3/27/18
L, 15-4
Wed 3/28/18
L, 10-2
Tue 4/10/18
W, 10-6
Wed 4/11/18
L, 11-1
Thu 4/12/18
W, 12-2
Fri 4/13/18
L, 3-2
Sat 4/14/18
W, 7-2
Thu 4/19/18
W, 11-1
Fri 4/20/18
W, 15-2
Mon 4/23/18
W, 9-7
Tue 4/24/18
W, 11-1
Thu 4/26/18
L, 1-0
Mon 4/30/18
W, 3-1
Tue 5/1/18
W, 17-14
Wed 5/2/18
L, 14-11
Thu 5/3/18
L, 13-2
Fri 5/4/18
W, 11-0
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2018 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2018 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!