Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 15, Horizon Science 0
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Tuesday, May 9, 2017   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  The Longhorns continued to dismantle opposition pitching, scoring 15 runs and routing the overwhelmed Horizon Science Dragons in the first round of the Sectional Tournament on Tuesday.  West advances to the Sectional Finals where they will host Gilmour on Wednesday at 4:30pm.  The Longhorns defeated Gilmour 2-1 in last year’s sectional tournament.

Sophomore John Smolik (W, 3-0) drew the start for the Longhorns and struck out 8 in four innings of work.  Smolik only allowed one hit—on an infield ground ball to third base—in the entire game. 

Offensively, West scored early and often, managing to plate at least three runs every inning.  Senior Alex Robinson had two hits and two RBIs, senior Scottie Berghaus had two hits including a double and three RBIs, senior Tristan Zimmer had two hits including a double and a pair of RBIs, and junior Jeremy Geye had a bases-loaded double that cleared the bases. 

The Longhorns have scored 31 runs on 26 hits in their last two games.

Berghaus finished the game on the mound with a scoreless frame, striking out two.
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 3/28/17
W, 6-2
Wed 3/29/17
W, 9-1
Mon 4/3/17
W, 10-1
Tue 4/4/17
W, 8-3
Wed 4/5/17
W, 7-4
Mon 4/10/17
W, 10-1
Tue 4/11/17
W, 4-3
Thu 4/13/17
W, 9-3
Tue 4/18/17
W, 12-2
Wed 4/19/17
Suspended
Thu 4/20/17
L, 6-3
Mon 4/24/17
W, 5-1
Tue 4/25/17
W, 4-0
Wed 4/26/17
L, 9-1
Thu 4/27/17
W, 5-1
Fri 4/28/17
W, 10-8
Wed 5/3/17
W, 9-0
Mon 5/8/17
W, 16-2
Tue 5/9/17
W, 15-0
Wed 5/10/17
W, 3-0
Thu 5/11/17
W, 21-0
Tue 5/16/17
W, 7-4
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2017 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2017 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!