Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 21, Oberlin 0
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Thursday, May 11, 2017   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  Lutheran West completed an absolutely dominant week of baseball with an extreme route of an overwhelmed Oberlin club on Thursday.  In the month of May, the Longhorns have outscored their opponents 57 to 1.  The only run that they have given up came in the Brooklyn game on Monday—a game that was started in April and was suspended due to a rain storm.  The Longhorns outscored Brooklyn 9-1 in the finish of that game and have won all of the other games since the start of May by the scores of 9-0, 15-0, 3-0, and last night 21-0. 

Last night, the Longhorns—who were technically the visiting team even though the game had been moved to LW since Oberlin’s field was too wet to play—scored 15 runs in the top of the second inning, sending 20 men to the plate in that inning alone.  The Phoenix only had 18 plate appearances in the entire game. 

Junior Rory Zakareckis (W, 3-0) gave up only one hit in the game and only allowed one Oberlin baserunner to reach third base.  Zakareckis struck out eight in the five-inning, compete-game shut-out performance.  It is Zakareckis’ second shutout of the year.

Offensively, West had eleven different players get hits.  Seniors Alex Robinson and Nat Marvel, juniors Jeremy Geye and Alex Gavlak, and sophomores Jake Albrecht and John Smolik all had two or more hits.  Zakareckis and senior Tristan Zimmer each had a double for the Longhorns.  Senior Josh Cales, Geye, Robinson, senior Scottie Berghaus, Zimmer, Gavlak, Smolik  and Albrecht each had two or more RBIs.
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 3/28/17
W, 6-2
Wed 3/29/17
W, 9-1
Mon 4/3/17
W, 10-1
Tue 4/4/17
W, 8-3
Wed 4/5/17
W, 7-4
Mon 4/10/17
W, 10-1
Tue 4/11/17
W, 4-3
Thu 4/13/17
W, 9-3
Tue 4/18/17
W, 12-2
Wed 4/19/17
Suspended
Thu 4/20/17
L, 6-3
Mon 4/24/17
W, 5-1
Tue 4/25/17
W, 4-0
Wed 4/26/17
L, 9-1
Thu 4/27/17
W, 5-1
Fri 4/28/17
W, 10-8
Wed 5/3/17
W, 9-0
Mon 5/8/17
W, 16-2
Tue 5/9/17
W, 15-0
Wed 5/10/17
W, 3-0
Thu 5/11/17
W, 21-0
Tue 5/16/17
W, 7-4
Wed 5/17/17
W, 22-2
Thu 5/18/17
L, 9-7
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2017 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2017 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!