Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 10, North Olmsted 8
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Friday, April 28, 2017   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  Lutheran West knocked off North Olmsted on Friday, as junior Rory Zakareckis (W, 2-0) picked up his second win of the year.  Zakareckis coasted through the first three innings, allowing only one run on four hits, but gave up five runs and faced ten batters in the fourth.  Three of the runs came in on a two-out error with the bases loaded, so Zakareckis was only charged with three earned runs.

The Longhorns, however, more than made up for the error—the only one of the day—with lots of runs. West took advantage of 10 walks from the Eagle pitching staff, scoring 10 runs on only eight hits.  West scored three runs in the first—on two hits—an RBI double from senior Alex Robinson and a two-out RBI single from sophomore John Smolik.   In the third, they piled on four more runs—without the aid of a walk—thanks to a two-run double off the bat of senior Nate Marvel and a two run double from junior Owen Albers.

After the Eagles put up five runs in the top of the fourth to cut the lead to 8-6, West was given a gift run in the bottom of the fourth--single, wild pitch, walk, hit batsman, walk and walk. In the fifth, they scored on a walk, a steal, a groundout and a wild pitch.

The real story of the day, however, was freshman Ryan Szczepinski.  Szczepinski—making his debut on the varsity mound in relief, pitched the fifth, sixth, and two outs into the seventh, and allowed only two runs to keep Lutheran West in position for the win.  After hitting the first batter he faced and a bunt single to start the fifth, Szczepinski settled down for a strikeout and a ground out before  giving up a single to put runners on the corners.  But when the runner at first tried to steal second, the batter was called out for interference when he hit Longhorn junior catcher Jeremy Geye with his backswing while Geye was attempting to throw to second.

Szczepinski gave up a couple of singles in the sixth but no damage and then got the first two batters in the seventh.  He was lifted for Robinson after he gave up a single and a walk.  Robinson made things interesting with a walk, but got the next batter to hit a ground ball to junior Michael Berghaus to end the game.
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 3/28/17
W, 6-2
Wed 3/29/17
W, 9-1
Mon 4/3/17
W, 10-1
Tue 4/4/17
W, 8-3
Wed 4/5/17
W, 7-4
Mon 4/10/17
W, 10-1
Tue 4/11/17
W, 4-3
Thu 4/13/17
W, 9-3
Tue 4/18/17
W, 12-2
Wed 4/19/17
Suspended
Thu 4/20/17
L, 6-3
Mon 4/24/17
W, 5-1
Tue 4/25/17
W, 4-0
Wed 4/26/17
L, 9-1
Thu 4/27/17
W, 5-1
Fri 4/28/17
W, 10-8
Wed 5/3/17
W, 9-0
Mon 5/8/17
W, 16-2
Tue 5/9/17
W, 15-0
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2017 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2017 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!