Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 5, Black River 1
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Thursday, April 27, 2017   |  box score

BLACK RIVER --  Sophomore John Smolik (W, 2-0) was excellent and the Longhorns scratched out 10 hits as the Lutheran West defeated the host Pirates of Black River 5-1 on Thursday.  It was the third win in four tries for the Lutheran West on the week.  The Longhorns will host North Olmsted on Friday.

Smolik was dealing all day.  He gave up a run in the first on a leadoff single, a pair of groundouts, and a wild pitch.  Other than that, Black River didn’t score.  In fact, the Pirates only managed to send five men to the plate in an inning twice in the entire game.  In one span, Smolik set down ten Black River batters in a row—and only needed 34 pitches to do it.

Offensively, West struggled to deal with Black River’s strange field set up.  A typical field is set up so that the sun sets behind third base (or there about) and the batter is looking just west of due north.  This keeps the sun out of both the batter and the pitcher’s eye. Black River’s field is set so that the batter is looking directly into the sun.  As you would expect, this makes hitting at an afternoon game difficult. 

But Lutheran West came through.  Junior Owen Albers scored in the first on an infield single from junior Rory Zakareckis.  Senior Josh Cales (double), Albers (single), and Zakareckis (single) all scored in the fifth.  And Zakareckis was junior Michael Berghaus’ second RBI of the day in the fifth.

West will be looking to clinch the Stripes Division title on Monday when they play Oberlin.  There are no PAC games on Friday when LW will battle North Olmsted in a non-conference game.
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 3/28/17
W, 6-2
Wed 3/29/17
W, 9-1
Mon 4/3/17
W, 10-1
Tue 4/4/17
W, 8-3
Wed 4/5/17
W, 7-4
Mon 4/10/17
W, 10-1
Tue 4/11/17
W, 4-3
Thu 4/13/17
W, 9-3
Tue 4/18/17
W, 12-2
Wed 4/19/17
Suspended
Thu 4/20/17
L, 6-3
Mon 4/24/17
W, 5-1
Tue 4/25/17
W, 4-0
Wed 4/26/17
L, 9-1
Thu 4/27/17
W, 5-1
Fri 4/28/17
W, 10-8
Wed 5/3/17
W, 9-0
Mon 5/8/17
W, 16-2
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2017 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2017 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!