Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Firelands 9, Lutheran West 1
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Wednesday, April 26, 2017   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  Every year, it seems that Lutheran West saves its worst game of the year for when they play Firelands.  Last year, West lost to Firelands 10-3—easily their worst game played all year. They committed four errors and walked seven Falcons on the way to one of their two conference losses in the year.

This year was no different.  West coupled their best played game of the year yesterday at Columbia with their ugliest today against Firelands.  After knocking out 12 hits yesterday, Lutheran West managed only three hits—two from junior Michael Berghaus—in the whole game today.  Defensively, yesterday they were rock solid, but today they committed three charged errors, and committed several more mental mistakes that do not show in the score book.  The charged errors directly cost LW five runs.  The errors that were not charged cost LW at least one more.

Junior Owen Albers was the hard luck loser for the Longhorns.  Albers falls to 2-2 on the season but pitched much better than the final score indicates, as the defense fell apart in the seventh costing him five runs.
 
The Longhorns look to turn the page on today’s dismal game when they take the long bus ride out to Black River tomorrow.
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 3/28/17
W, 6-2
Wed 3/29/17
W, 9-1
Mon 4/3/17
W, 10-1
Tue 4/4/17
W, 8-3
Wed 4/5/17
W, 7-4
Mon 4/10/17
W, 10-1
Tue 4/11/17
W, 4-3
Thu 4/13/17
W, 9-3
Tue 4/18/17
W, 12-2
Wed 4/19/17
Suspended
Thu 4/20/17
L, 6-3
Mon 4/24/17
W, 5-1
Tue 4/25/17
W, 4-0
Wed 4/26/17
L, 9-1
Thu 4/27/17
W, 5-1
Fri 4/28/17
W, 10-8
Wed 5/3/17
W, 9-0
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2017 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2017 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!