Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 4, Columbia 0
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Tuesday, April 25, 2017   |  box score

COLUMBIA --  Lutheran West got its second straight dominant pitching performance—this time from senior Tristan Zimmer.  Zimmer (W, 3-0) threw a complete-game two-hit shutout, striking out four and walking five. West played tremendous defense behind Zimmer, turning two double plays overall and looking strong in the field—in direct contrast to Monday’s struggle.

After cruising through the first six and two-thirds innings, it was the last out of the game that proved the toughest.  After getting the first two outs in the inning, Zimmer surrendered a walk, a single to left, and a second walk to load the bases.  But junior Owen Albers made a great play on what easily could have been a bad hop single to end the game.  Columbia’s Billy Turner hit a smash right at Albers, which hit a rock and looked like it might go into left field.  Albers stayed right with the tough hop, and calmly walk over to third to end the game and secure the shutout.

West jumped all over Columbia’s starting pitcher Jacob Aniol to the tune of three runs in the top of the first.  And despite the fact that West totaled 12 hits and numerous line drive outs, the Longhorns managed only one more run the rest of the game. 

But all the Longhorns needed was the runs they scored in the first.  Senior Josh Cales ripped the second pitch of the game for a single to start the game.  Albers hammered pitch three into center for the second hit of the inning.  After a fielder’s choice from senior Alex Robinson, junior Rory Zakareckis joined the hit party with a single of his own, driving in Cales.  On the first pitch to senior Scottie Berghaus, Zakareckis stole second.  When Columbia threw to second, Robinson stole home. Zakareckis came home on a ground ball from junior Alex Gavlak later in the inning.

Sophomore John Smolik knocked in LW’s final run with a two-out single in the third.

West takes a stranglehold on the conference with the win.  West is now 9-1 in conference.  The next closest team to LW is Clearview at 7-5.
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 3/28/17
W, 6-2
Wed 3/29/17
W, 9-1
Mon 4/3/17
W, 10-1
Tue 4/4/17
W, 8-3
Wed 4/5/17
W, 7-4
Mon 4/10/17
W, 10-1
Tue 4/11/17
W, 4-3
Thu 4/13/17
W, 9-3
Tue 4/18/17
W, 12-2
Wed 4/19/17
Suspended
Thu 4/20/17
L, 6-3
Mon 4/24/17
W, 5-1
Tue 4/25/17
W, 4-0
Wed 4/26/17
L, 9-1
Thu 4/27/17
W, 5-1
Fri 4/28/17
W, 10-8
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2017 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2017 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!