Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 2, Gilmour 1
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Monday, May 9, 2016   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  In a game that felt more like a District game than the first round of the sectional tournament, sophomore Matt Brosky shut down the two-time defending Regional Champions Gilmour Lancers 2-1.  Lutheran West advances to play against #2 seed Wickliffe High School at 4:30pm today for the right to move on to the District tournament next week.

The Longhorns took advantage of a dominant performance from Brosky, who needed only 102 pitches to throw all seven innings.  Brosky faced five batters in one inning only once, and allowed a runner to reach second base only three times in the game.  Brosky walked three and struck out four on the day.

West opened the game with a run in the first when a leadoff walk to junior Josh Cales turned into a run on a single by Brosky through the hole between short and third and scored Cales from second.   Keen observers noted that if the throw to the plate had not been cut-off by the Lancer third baseman, the play would have been very close, but it was irrelevant since the throw—that was on-line—was cut off.

Gilmour then took advantage of the only leadoff hitter that Brosky allowed to reach base when their leadoff hitter in the fifth reached first via a four pitch walk.  After a steal to second, and a bunt to put the Lancer runner on third, he was brought home on a sacrifice fly to center.  Observers again noted that the throw in by Cales from center was online and that the Longhorns would have had a chance to nab the runner at the plate before he scored, but like the Lancers before them, the Longhorns cut the throw as well.  That run tied the game at 1-1.

It did not take long, however for the Longhorns to grab the lead back.  Senior Tim Gettinger smacked a leadoff single up the middle to lead off the bottom of the fifth.  He moved to second on a wild pitch.  With one out, Cales smacked a single to center.  Gettinger, was held at third by Longhorn head coach Trey Lamb, who was coaching third.  Lamb had learned from the third and fourth innings when Longhorns had been thrown out at the plate trying to score from second on a single.  In both cases, Gilmour’s outfielders had made perfect throws to the plate.  But just as Gettinger was slowing down, Gilmour centerfielder Johnny Hollis—who had thrown out the Longhorn scoring attempt in the third, overran the ball in his haste to get it into the infield.  This misplay allowed Gettinger just enough time to scamper home ahead of the throw and score what would turn out to be the game winning run. 

The Longhorns will carry a seven game winning streak into Tuesday’s sectional final matchup at Wickliffe.  The game will be played at Wickliffe’s home field—Coulby Park.  First pitch is scheduled for 4:30pm.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Wed 3/30/16
L, 8-7
Fri 4/1/16
W, 10-9
Tue 4/5/16
W, 9-1
Wed 4/6/16
W, 7-2
Tue 4/12/16
L, 8-5
Wed 4/13/16
W, 10-3
Thu 4/14/16
W, 5-3
Fri 4/15/16
W, 5-2
Mon 4/18/16
W, 2-0
Tue 4/19/16
W, 12-2
Thu 4/21/16
W, 8-1
Fri 4/22/16
L, 10-3
Sat 4/23/16
L, 1-0
Mon 4/25/16
W, 7-0
Tue 4/26/16
W, 8-6
Wed 4/27/16
W, 4-0
Mon 5/2/16
W, 5-1
Tue 5/3/16
W, 14-1
Thu 5/5/16
W, 15-3
Mon 5/9/16
W, 2-1
Tue 5/10/16
L, 3-0
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2016 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2016 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!