Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 15, Wellington 3
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Thursday, May 5, 2016   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  Lutheran West put together their best game of the year so far, and blew out a very solid Wellington club, clinching the PAC-12 Stripes Division outright for the first time since 2009. The Longhorns got a dominant pitching performance from senior Tommy Walker (W, 3-0), solid defense, great base running, and explosive hitting.

First and foremost, Walker kept a dynamic offensive team in check the entire game.  Walker threw five innings, allowing three runs on four hits and only one walk with four strikeouts.  Wellington came into the game with the second highest number of runs scored in the conference—second only to Lutheran West.  Walker shut them down, allowing only a single run in the three innings.  Only once did Wellington manage more than one hit in an inning.

Defensively, West was solid behind Walker, committing zero errors on the day.

On the base paths, West took advantage of four wild pitches, stole three bases, and took advantage of Wellington seemingly every inning.  The Longhorns were aggressive throughout, even scoring twice on wild pitches despite the short backstop at Booster’s Field at Lutheran West.

But the game was decided by LW’s hitting.  West rapped out 16 hits, including nine with men in scoring position, with 14 of their 15 runs being charged to Wellington as earned.  The Longhorns jumped on Wellington with a five-spot in the third.  After sophomore Matt Brosky started the inning with a double to deep right center, a walk to sophomore Rory Zakareckis, and a wild pitch, junior Scottie Berghaus had the first of his four hits on the day to drive both in. West scored three more times in the inning—two on wild pitches and the final run on junior Josh Cales’ second hit of the day.  With the single, Cales broke the PAC-12 All Time record for most multi-hit games in a season with 11. 

Cales started the scoring in the fourth with his third hit of the day, driving in senior Tim Gettinger.  Cales and sophomore Jeremy Geye scored on sophomore Owen Albers’ single up the middle.  Albers scored two pitches later when Walker crushed a 0-1 pitch over the head of the right fielder for a double.  Walker would score LW’s tenth run when junior Alex Robinson coaxed a bases loaded walk.
Walker knocked in Albers in the fifth for run number eleven, and then scored run number 12 on a two-out pinch-hit from junior Evan McCartney

Senior Joe Kneebusch, pinch hitting to lead off the seventh, drilled a fast ball into right field for the first varsity hit in his career.  Kneebusch, understandably excited, face planted on his way to first base.  Kneebusch recovered in time to easily make it to first and would later score on a triple from Walker—his third hit of the day.

The Longhorns racked up hits all day.  Eight different Longhorns had hits on the day.  Berghaus led the team with four hits, a double, and two RBIs.  Walker had three, a triple, a double, and four RBIs.  Cales had three hits and two RBIs.  Albers finished the day with two hits, two RBIs, and three runs scored.

The Longhorns move on to the OHSAA tournament next week, hosting two-time returning district champion Gilmour on Monday.  First pitch is set for 4:30pm.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Wed 3/30/16
L, 8-7
Fri 4/1/16
W, 10-9
Tue 4/5/16
W, 9-1
Wed 4/6/16
W, 7-2
Tue 4/12/16
L, 8-5
Wed 4/13/16
W, 10-3
Thu 4/14/16
W, 5-3
Fri 4/15/16
W, 5-2
Mon 4/18/16
W, 2-0
Tue 4/19/16
W, 12-2
Thu 4/21/16
W, 8-1
Fri 4/22/16
L, 10-3
Sat 4/23/16
L, 1-0
Mon 4/25/16
W, 7-0
Tue 4/26/16
W, 8-6
Wed 4/27/16
W, 4-0
Mon 5/2/16
W, 5-1
Tue 5/3/16
W, 14-1
Thu 5/5/16
W, 15-3
Mon 5/9/16
W, 2-1
Tue 5/10/16
L, 3-0
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2016 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2016 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!