Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 5, Oberlin 1
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Monday, May 2, 2016   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  Lutheran West won its twelfth conference game of the year last night, taking care of business against the 1-13, 1-11 Oberlin Phoenix.  West has now won four games in a row and is in position to win its first conference title since 2009.  West has two games left in the conference schedule--at Oberlin today and at Wellington on Thursday.  A win tonight will clinch a share of the PAC title and a win both days or a win tonight and a loss by Clearview in any of their remaining five conference games would give LW the title outright.

It took a while for the Longhorn bats to awaken, but it was of no consequence since sophomore Matt Brosky was dominant on the hill for the Longhorns.  Brosky, who is now 6-1 with the complete game victory, struck out the side in each of the first three innings.  Brosky actually struck out the first ten of the first twelve batters he faced--mixing in a walk and a single to go with the 10 punch outs.  

Offensively, West began to adjust to the slow speed of Oberlin’s pitcher in the fourth, but didn’t come through until the fifth.  With one out in the fifth and junior Josh Cales on second and sophomore Owen Albers on first, senior Tommy Walker smashed a base hit up the middle for the game’s first run.  Brosky followed with a nice piece of two-strike hitting, singling through the hole between first and second to drive in Albers.  Sophomore Rory Zakareckis’ sacrifice fly brought home Walker for the third run, and junior Scott Berghaus lined a double to the left center gap to drive in Brosky.

West would tack on another insurance run in the bottom of the sixth on a single from senior Tim Gettinger, a double from Cales, and a sacrifice fly from Albers.
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Wed 3/30/16
L, 8-7
Fri 4/1/16
W, 10-9
Tue 4/5/16
W, 9-1
Wed 4/6/16
W, 7-2
Tue 4/12/16
L, 8-5
Wed 4/13/16
W, 10-3
Thu 4/14/16
W, 5-3
Fri 4/15/16
W, 5-2
Mon 4/18/16
W, 2-0
Tue 4/19/16
W, 12-2
Thu 4/21/16
W, 8-1
Fri 4/22/16
L, 10-3
Sat 4/23/16
L, 1-0
Mon 4/25/16
W, 7-0
Tue 4/26/16
W, 8-6
Wed 4/27/16
W, 4-0
Mon 5/2/16
W, 5-1
Tue 5/3/16
W, 14-1
Thu 5/5/16
W, 15-3
Mon 5/9/16
W, 2-1
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2016 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2016 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!