Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 10, Black River 1
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Thursday, May 7, 2015   |  box score

BLACK RIVER  --  Lutheran West won for the second time in as many days, scoring 10 runs for consecutive games as they drilled Black River at beautiful Dandelion Field in Sullivan on Thursday.  West scored in all of the seven innings, and constantly had pressure on the Pirate pitching staff, putting runners in scoring position in every inning but the first.  Senior Nick Gambetta was in control all day, allowing only one run—earned—and five hits and two walks while striking out five en route to his third win on the season.
 
West scored in textbook style in the second inning to grab a 1-0 lead.  After junior Tommy Walker drilled a leadoff double to right center to start the inning, sophomore Alex Robinson moved him over with a ground out to the right side and sophomore Scott Berghaus pushed him in with a sacrifice fly to center.

After Black River answered with a run of their own in the second, the Longhorns grabbed the lead for good with three runs in the fourth.  Walker started the scoring with a single and then scored two batters later on a double to deep left by senior Sam Jakabcic.  Jakabcic and Berghaus—who had reached on a fielder’s choice—scored on a two-out RBI single from freshman Matt Brosky to push LW’s lead to 4-1.

West blew the game open in the sixth.  After a leadoff single and steal of second from Jakabcic, and back to back walks to load the bases, West got RBI hits from freshman Owen Albers, Gambetta, Walker and Berghaus.  Add to that runs scored on a wild pitch and a botched run-down, and LW led 10-1.

West will face Black River next Thursday in their first round Sectional Tournament game.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Mon 3/30/15
W, 9-3
Wed 4/1/15
L, 1-0
Wed 4/8/15
W, 3-2
Mon 4/13/15
Suspended
Tue 4/14/15
L, 17-7
Tue 4/14/15
L, 4-2
Wed 4/15/15
L, 11-1
Thu 4/16/15
L, 10-0
Fri 4/17/15
L, 5-3
Mon 4/20/15
W, 8-4
Tue 4/21/15
L, 3-1
Wed 4/22/15
W, 15-5
Thu 4/23/15
L, 7-3
Mon 4/27/15
W, 11-1
Tue 4/28/15
W, 1-0
Thu 4/30/15
L, 5-0
Fri 5/1/15
L, 7-0
Mon 5/4/15
L, 10-0
Tue 5/5/15
W, 11-8
Thu 5/7/15
W, 10-1
Mon 5/11/15
W, 6-3
Tue 5/12/15
W, 9-1
Thu 5/14/15
W, 8-7
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2015 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2015 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!