Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 8, Black River 7
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Thursday, May 14, 2015   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  Lutheran West won its fifth game in a row, outlasting Black River in a laughter-turned-nail biter in the sectional semi-final on Thursday.  West moves on to take on the Elyria Catholic Panthers—ranked third in the State in D III—at Elyria Catholic tomorrow.
 
Behind strong pitching from junior Tommy Walker and a very giving Black River defense, the Longhorns held an 8-2 lead entering the top of the seventh inning.  Then things got crazy.
 
As always happens in big innings, the inning began on a seemingly harmless ground ball.  This one was hit back to Walker on the mound.  But his throw was low and the play was close and senior first baseman Matt Valletto dropped the throw.  After a bunt moved the Black River runner to second, Walker suddenly lost his command and walked two batters in a row to load the bases.  Walker had only walked one batter in the entire game to that point.  Walker then gave up a single up the middle and suddenly LW was in a jam. 
 
Exit Walker.  Enter senior Nick Gambetta.  After Gambetta got a sacrifice fly to center for the second out, he hit a batter and then walked the next batter, Derek Hawley who represented the tying run.  Not good.  Now its 8-5 with the bases loaded.  Two pitches later, Black River batter Travis Sexton rifled a single to left to score two more.  The Black River coach, in his excitement, waved Hawley past second to third despite the fact that Longhorn freshman left fielder Rory Zakareckis was fielding the ball in medium straight away left field while Hawley was rounding second.  Freshman third baseman Owen Albers was easily able to catch Zakareckis’ throw and lay the tag down before Hawley began his slide into third to end the game with LW on top 8-7.
 
West scored three in the second despite only getting one hit, another in the third—this time on no hits, another in the fourth—on no hits again.  Errors, walks, hit by pitches, and stolen bases led to the gift runs, which LW rode to a 5-2 lead.
 
The Longhorns earned a few runs themselves in the fifth when they compiled three hits to go with a walk and a key error to plate three more and push the lead to 8-2.
 
Walker was excellent on the mound, allowing only two earned runs (six total runs allowed) on four hits and six strikeouts.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Mon 3/30/15
W, 9-3
Wed 4/1/15
L, 1-0
Wed 4/8/15
W, 3-2
Mon 4/13/15
Suspended
Tue 4/14/15
L, 17-7
Tue 4/14/15
L, 4-2
Wed 4/15/15
L, 11-1
Thu 4/16/15
L, 10-0
Fri 4/17/15
L, 5-3
Mon 4/20/15
W, 8-4
Tue 4/21/15
L, 3-1
Wed 4/22/15
W, 15-5
Thu 4/23/15
L, 7-3
Mon 4/27/15
W, 11-1
Tue 4/28/15
W, 1-0
Thu 4/30/15
L, 5-0
Fri 5/1/15
L, 7-0
Mon 5/4/15
L, 10-0
Tue 5/5/15
W, 11-8
Thu 5/7/15
W, 10-1
Mon 5/11/15
W, 6-3
Tue 5/12/15
W, 9-1
Thu 5/14/15
W, 8-7
Fri 5/15/15
L, 6-0
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2015 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2015 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!