Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Buckeye 7, Lutheran West 3
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Thursday, April 23, 2015   |  box score

BUCKEYE --  Lutheran West fell for the fourth time in as many tries to a cross divisional foe last night when they traveled to Buckeye.   With temperatures in the low 40s and upper 30s and wind gusting throughout the game, West fell to their hosts 7-3.  Freshman Owen Albers was the tough-luck loser, falling to 0-2 on the season despite giving up only two earned runs (five total) in five solid innings of work.
 
West failed to capitalize on three Buckeye errors, struggling at the plate all night and stranding seven runners on base.  The Longhorns only managed three hits in the entire game—senior Nick Gambetta, junior Tommy Walker, and Albers had one each.

The game was tied 2-2 in the fifth before the Longhorns gave away three runs in the bottom of the frame.  After a single by Buckeye leadoff hitter Jake Johnson, Buckeye tried to move Johnson up with a sacrifice bunt.  When Albers fielded the bunt, however, he threw wildly to second, and Buckeye had runners on first and second.  A wild pitch moved them to second and third and a single scored them both to give Buckeye the lead for good.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Mon 3/30/15
W, 9-3
Wed 4/1/15
L, 1-0
Wed 4/8/15
W, 3-2
Mon 4/13/15
Suspended
Tue 4/14/15
L, 17-7
Tue 4/14/15
L, 4-2
Wed 4/15/15
L, 11-1
Thu 4/16/15
L, 10-0
Fri 4/17/15
L, 5-3
Mon 4/20/15
W, 8-4
Tue 4/21/15
L, 3-1
Wed 4/22/15
W, 15-5
Thu 4/23/15
L, 7-3
Mon 4/27/15
W, 11-1
Tue 4/28/15
W, 1-0
Thu 4/30/15
L, 5-0
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2015 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2015 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!