Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 15, Oberlin 5
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Wednesday, April 22, 2015   |  box score

OBERLIN --  Lutheran West routed Oberlin last night, scoring nine runs in the first inning despite the frigid, North-Atlantic-in-December-like conditions.  With the wind gusting all game and the temperature dropping below 40 degrees, West refused to be affected by the weather and pounded the Phoenix pitching to the tune of 15 runs and 19 hits in the mercy-rule shortened game.
 
Just two weeks ago, West beat Oberlin 3-2 by scoring twice in the bottom of the seventh inning.  Yesterday West had no trouble scoring runs, and scored in every inning except the fourth. 
 
Sophomore Josh Cales started it on the first pitch with a single.  Then on his first pitch, freshman Owen Albers laid down a perfect bunt for a hit.  After senior Nick Gambetta sacrificed them to second and third with another bunt, junior Tommy Walker sent Cales home and Albers to third on the fourth pitch of the inning when he singled sharply to center.    Freshman Rory Zakareckis knocked in both Walker and Albers when he ripped another single after Walker stole second.  Sophomore Scott Berghaus singled and senior Sam Jakabcic tripled to drive in two more.  Sophomore Alex Robinson joined the hit parade with a one out RBI single, Cales doubled in another run, and Gambetta knocked in another pair of runs with a two out two run single to right-center.  Nine runs on nine hits - in just the first inning.
 
On the day, three Longhorns totaled three RBIs: Zakareckis (3 for 3, 3R), Robinson (3 for 4), and Jakabcic (2 for 3, 2R, 3B).
 
Gambetta started for the Longhorns and pitched the complete game, allowing four earned runs on ten hits and two walks while striking out two.
 
The Longhorns will again battle the Artic cold on Thursday when they travel out to Buckeye.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Mon 3/30/15
W, 9-3
Wed 4/1/15
L, 1-0
Wed 4/8/15
W, 3-2
Mon 4/13/15
Suspended
Tue 4/14/15
L, 17-7
Tue 4/14/15
L, 4-2
Wed 4/15/15
L, 11-1
Thu 4/16/15
L, 10-0
Fri 4/17/15
L, 5-3
Mon 4/20/15
W, 8-4
Tue 4/21/15
L, 3-1
Wed 4/22/15
W, 15-5
Thu 4/23/15
L, 7-3
Mon 4/27/15
W, 11-1
Tue 4/28/15
W, 1-0
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2015 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
2015 Varsity Baseball
Team Picture and Roster
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!