Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Columbia 2, Lutheran West 1
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Tuesday, May 6, 2014   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  Lutheran West squandered a superb pitching performance from senior Greg Kunze and several opportunities to win the game, falling to rival Columbia for the second straight night. This time it was in cruel fashion, falling 2-1 in 9 innings.  West had multiple chances to win the game and climb back into the conference race, but failed to come through with men in scoring position.

The first opportunity to win came in the bottom of the seventh when West had the bases loaded and one out.  An infield pop-up from senior Eric Szczepinski was the second out.  But even more crushing was when sophomore Tim Gettinger ripped a ground ball down the first base line that appeared to be headed to the outfield as the game winning hit.  Columbia’s first base man dove, snagged the ball, and then beat Gettinger by a step to first base to end the inning. 

West threatened again the next inning, with the winning run on second with only one out, only to have two ground balls end the threat.
The decisive run scored by Columbia in the ninth inning had no business scoring.  A leadoff walk, always an issue in a tight game, a steal, a passed ball, and a sac fly put Columbia in the lead for good.

With the loss it would take a miracle for Lutheran West to earn a share of the conference title. West is now 9-6 in conference play.  Columbia is now 9-2.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Mon 3/31/14
L, 12-0
Tue 4/1/14
W, 13-3
Tue 4/8/14
W, 14-1
Wed 4/9/14
L, 5-4
Thu 4/10/14
L, 24-0
Fri 4/11/14
W, 10-6
Mon 4/14/14
W, 13-3
Thu 4/17/14
W, 4-2
Tue 4/22/14
W, 4-2
Wed 4/23/14
W, 4-2
Thu 4/24/14
L, 5-3
Fri 4/25/14
L, 6-4
Tue 4/29/14
W, 4-3
Thu 5/1/14
W, 5-3
Fri 5/2/14
W, 13-9
Mon 5/5/14
L, 8-0
Tue 5/6/14
L, 2-1
Thu 5/8/14
L, 8-7
Fri 5/9/14
W, 10-0
Fri 5/16/14
W, 10-0
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2014 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!