Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Columbia 8, Lutheran West 0
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Monday, May 5, 2014   |  box score

COLUMBIA --  Lutheran West watched their best opportunity at a conference title sail past them as they fell to the now-conference-leading Columbia Raiders in a disappointing game 8-0.  West hitters looked flat and intimidated by the largeness of the moment, striking out 14 times, with nine of those coming in the called variety.  While the strike zone was undoubtedly one of the largest in recent memory, LW never adjusted and continued to take pitches with two strikes.  Columbia ace senior Michael Boey continued to stretch the boundaries of the strike zone, striking out at one point seven in a row. 

West was little better in the field, committing four errors that led to five unearned runs.  Senior Aaron Geye was the hard-luck loser, giving up seven runs, but only two earned, in 4-plus innings of work.

West looks to rebound tomorrow when they host the Raiders for the second of their two game set.  The Longhorns will need a win if they have any hope of bringing home a conference championship this season.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Mon 3/31/14
L, 12-0
Tue 4/1/14
W, 13-3
Tue 4/8/14
W, 14-1
Wed 4/9/14
L, 5-4
Thu 4/10/14
L, 24-0
Fri 4/11/14
W, 10-6
Mon 4/14/14
W, 13-3
Thu 4/17/14
W, 4-2
Tue 4/22/14
W, 4-2
Wed 4/23/14
W, 4-2
Thu 4/24/14
L, 5-3
Fri 4/25/14
L, 6-4
Tue 4/29/14
W, 4-3
Thu 5/1/14
W, 5-3
Fri 5/2/14
W, 13-9
Mon 5/5/14
L, 8-0
Tue 5/6/14
L, 2-1
Thu 5/8/14
L, 8-7
Fri 5/9/14
W, 10-0
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2014 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!