Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 13, Brooklyn 9
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Friday, May 2, 2014   |  box score

BROOKLYN --  Lutheran West outlasted Brooklyn in a slugfest last night that saw three homers, ten extra base hits and 22 runs. Senior Eric Szczepinski earned the win with three and two thirds innings of a two run relief of sophomore Tommy Walker who got the start and got tagged with seven runs in less than four innings of work.
 
Senior Jake Pshock had three hits, a home run, and three RBIs, and freshman Josh Cales went deep as well. Lutheran West scored early and often and grabbed a huge win en route to making a run at the conference title.  Sophomore Tim Gettinger and Szczepinski had three hits as well.

Early on, things went back and forth.  After LW scored twice on RBIs from Szczepinski and senior Collin McCartney in the top of the first, Brooklyn responded with three of their own in the bottom of the first: 3-2.  Pshock led off the second with his homerun, tying the score at three.  West took the lead 4-3 in the top of the third with an RBI single from junior Sam Jakabcic

That lead, however, was short lived as Brooklyn put up another three spot in the bottom of the third and re-took the lead 6-4.  LW, however, was not fazed scoring five of their own in the top of the fourth.  Cales led off the inning with a homer over the left field wall.  Pshock then plated two more with a two-out, two-RBI single with the bases loaded.  Pshock and Walker then scored on a base hit from senior pinch hitter Noah Potantus.  West was now up 9-6. 

After Brookyn scored once to make it 9-7, LW put the game out of reach in the fifth with three more runs on a two-run single from McCartney and an RBI single from senior Aaron Geye.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Mon 3/31/14
L, 12-0
Tue 4/1/14
W, 13-3
Tue 4/8/14
W, 14-1
Wed 4/9/14
L, 5-4
Thu 4/10/14
L, 24-0
Fri 4/11/14
W, 10-6
Mon 4/14/14
W, 13-3
Thu 4/17/14
W, 4-2
Tue 4/22/14
W, 4-2
Wed 4/23/14
W, 4-2
Thu 4/24/14
L, 5-3
Fri 4/25/14
L, 6-4
Tue 4/29/14
W, 4-3
Thu 5/1/14
W, 5-3
Fri 5/2/14
W, 13-9
Mon 5/5/14
L, 8-0
Tue 5/6/14
L, 2-1
Thu 5/8/14
L, 8-7
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2014 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!