Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 4, Clearview 2
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Tuesday, April 22, 2014   |  box score

CLEARVIEW --  Despite committing five errors, the visiting Longhorns were able to hold onto a 4-2 victory after scoring three runs in the first three innings.

Senior Aaron Geye started on the mound for West and had five dominant innings. Geye managed to keep the Clippers to only three hits and one unearned run, despite the defense behind him giving up four errors. In addition, he kept Clearview off balance and managed to strike out eight.

The Longhorns compensated for their lacking defensive effort by being patient offensively. Despite only three hits of their own, LW forced Clearview’s pitcher to throw high counts for each at bat and were able to take eight walks. Their ability to wait led to their scoring in the first three innings and really set the tone for the game, making the Clippers chase them.

Senior Eric Sczcepinski was the only Longhorn with an extra base hit and that came in his first at-bat; he took a pitch and hit it to center field for a double, also bringing in junior Sam Jakabcic for the first run of the game.  Geye and senior Joe Peters were the other West batters with a hit, each gaining a single in the second inning.

In the final two innings, Clearview made a run, scoring two runs, both unearned. However, sophomore Tommy Walker came in to relieve Geye and earned the save by promptly ending the sixth inning with bases loaded and with two strikeouts of his own to end the game.

The victory put the Longhorns at 6-3 overall and 5-2 in conference play. 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Mon 3/31/14
L, 12-0
Tue 4/1/14
W, 13-3
Tue 4/8/14
W, 14-1
Wed 4/9/14
L, 5-4
Thu 4/10/14
L, 24-0
Fri 4/11/14
W, 10-6
Mon 4/14/14
W, 13-3
Thu 4/17/14
W, 4-2
Tue 4/22/14
W, 4-2
Wed 4/23/14
W, 4-2
Thu 4/24/14
L, 5-3
Fri 4/25/14
L, 6-4
2014 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!