Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Brooklyn 5, Lutheran West 3
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Wednesday, May 8, 2013   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  Lutheran West left the bases loaded in the bottom of the seventh, when junior Derek Naim hit a line drive right at the left fielder to end the game and let the Brooklyn Hurricanes escape with a 5-2 win.

Junior Eric Szczepinski was on the mound for the Longhorns. He started the game strong, retiring three of the first five batters he faced. However, it was in the second inning where he struggled. The Hurricanes were able to bat through their line-up and score all five runs in the course of the second inning. The inning only ended when Seniors CJ Griffin and Kyle DiCapua converted a double play.

After the second inning, the game calmed down. Sczcepinski and the defense got under control and kept the Hurricanes from scoring any more runs.

Offensively, the team did little to help Szczepinski.  The team only mustered up five hits, three of which came off of the bat of senior Tyler Cerny.   This loss is even worse when considering the Hurricanes committed five errors, which were not capitalized on by the Longhorns.

Lutheran West is now 10-7 on the season and 8-5 in conference play. The team can still win the conference championship with a win at Columbia tomorrow night. 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 4/2/13
W, 15-0
Sat 4/6/13
L, 11-5
Sat 4/6/13
L, 4-3
Mon 4/8/13
L, 12-2
Wed 4/10/13
L, 7-0
Thu 4/11/13
Postponed
Fri 4/12/13
W, 13-0
Mon 4/15/13
W, 9-2
Wed 4/17/13
W, 17-4
Thu 4/18/13
W, 14-4
Mon 4/22/13
W, 5-0
Tue 4/23/13
L, 10-0
Wed 4/24/13
Postponed
Thu 4/25/13
W, 15-12
Fri 4/26/13
W, 13-1
Mon 4/29/13
Postponed
Wed 5/1/13
W, 5-1
Thu 5/2/13
W, 4-0
Mon 5/6/13
L, 4-2
Wed 5/8/13
L, 5-3
Thu 5/9/13
L, 5-4
Fri 5/10/13
Cancelled
Mon 5/13/13
W, 10-5
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2013 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!