Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 4, Fairview 0
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Thursday, May 2, 2013   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  Junior Greg Kunze threw a complete game and picked up his fourth win of the season as Lutheran West scored four times in the bottom of the sixth to grab the win against rival Fairview.  The Longhorns struggled to hit all game, but came through with a clutch two out hit from junior Derek Naim to score junior Eric Szczepinski and a two run single from junior Collin McCartney to blow the game open.

After Szczepinski reached an infield single to start the sixth, he stole second and then moved to third on a wild pitch with one out. Senior Eric Lewis grounded out to a pulled- in second baseman and Szczepinski was forced to retreat back to third.  Naim then responded with a huge single up the middle to score LW’s first run of the game.  
 
After Naim moved to second on an errant pick-off throw, Fairview Coach John Carter elected to intentionally walk junior Aaron Geye to keep the force play available and pitch to McCartney.  Carter’s pitcher, Danny Simko, then picked up his second error of the inning when he uncorked another wild pickoff throw into center field.  Naim and Geye moved up, and then scored when McCartney lined a single into right field to extend the lead to 3-0.
 
Kunze was magnificent on the hill, throwing only 98 pitches, walking two and striking out five.  Fairview only managed to get one runner to third in the entire game.  Kunze set down ten of the final eleven Fairview batters in the game. 
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 4/2/13
W, 15-0
Sat 4/6/13
L, 11-5
Sat 4/6/13
L, 4-3
Mon 4/8/13
L, 12-2
Wed 4/10/13
L, 7-0
Thu 4/11/13
Postponed
Fri 4/12/13
W, 13-0
Mon 4/15/13
W, 9-2
Wed 4/17/13
W, 17-4
Thu 4/18/13
W, 14-4
Mon 4/22/13
W, 5-0
Tue 4/23/13
L, 10-0
Wed 4/24/13
Postponed
Thu 4/25/13
W, 15-12
Fri 4/26/13
W, 13-1
Mon 4/29/13
Postponed
Wed 5/1/13
W, 5-1
Thu 5/2/13
W, 4-0
Mon 5/6/13
L, 4-2
Wed 5/8/13
L, 5-3
Thu 5/9/13
L, 5-4
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2013 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!