Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 13, Oberlin 1
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Friday, April 26, 2013   |  box score

ROCKY RIVER --  Junior Aaron Geye gained his third win of the season when the Longhorns were able to run rule the Oberlin Phoenix 13-1. Geye pitched three strong innings for LW, giving up only one earned run, two hits, one walk, and striking out four.
 
Offensively, the Longhorns put up a good showing that sealed the game and the win due to timely hitting. LW posted nine hits and six walks as a team. Lutheran West capitalized on the Phoenix’s weak spots and put the ball into play when it mattered, especially when there were runners in scoring position. Senior CJ Griffin was one of LW’s biggest threats on the night, garnering up three hits, including a double, and five RBIs.
 
However it was the Phoenix’s defense that gave West the win; those 13 runs can be deceiving. Oberlin’s starting pitcher, Marcus Bailey, only allowed four of those runs. It was the Oberlin defense that committed five errors and gave the Longhorns their 13 runs.
 
The win puts the Longhorns back on track in the conference. They are now 8-5 overall and 6-3 in the conference.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 4/2/13
W, 15-0
Sat 4/6/13
L, 11-5
Sat 4/6/13
L, 4-3
Mon 4/8/13
L, 12-2
Wed 4/10/13
L, 7-0
Thu 4/11/13
Postponed
Fri 4/12/13
W, 13-0
Mon 4/15/13
W, 9-2
Wed 4/17/13
W, 17-4
Thu 4/18/13
W, 14-4
Mon 4/22/13
W, 5-0
Tue 4/23/13
L, 10-0
Wed 4/24/13
Postponed
Thu 4/25/13
W, 15-12
Fri 4/26/13
W, 13-1
Mon 4/29/13
Postponed
Wed 5/1/13
W, 5-1
Thu 5/2/13
W, 4-0
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2013 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!