Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Buckeye 10, Lutheran West 0
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Tuesday, April 23, 2013   |  box score

BUCKEYE --  It’s hard to blame Longhorn junior pitcher Greg Kunze for the loss yesterday.   After all, he only gave up four hits in four innings.  He battled against arguably the best team in the PAC-12 despite not having anything close to his best stuff and certainly not good control.  Twice he stranded multiple men on base, and twice got out of jams with two-out strikeouts. 

Offensively, LW did little to help out Kunze.  LW did post seven hits.  But all seven came with two outs, and none of the runners came around to score.  Defensively, LW came up just short as well.  The team made only two errors, but both came at hugely inopportune times.  In the second, an error on senior shortstop CJ Griffin on a tailor made double play ground ball happened two batters before Buckeye #9 hitter Alex Green popped a wind aided grand slam over the short fence in left.  In the fourth, a two out throwing error by Griffin allowed another Buckeye runner to score the Buck’s sixth run.

But it’s hard not to blame Kunze as well. Kunze got himself into as much trouble as anything else—his final pitching line says it all:  4 innings pitched, 6 runs (3 earned), on 4 hits and 5 walks.  Sure, Kunze did not deserve all the runs he gave up, but three of the five runners that Kunze put on base via the walk scored.  Erase those walks, and the game is much closer.  Furthermore, take those walks away and Kunze throws less pitches and likely can work much deeper into the game.

West looks to get back on the winning trail tonight when they host the Phoenix of Oberlin.  Game time is set for 4:30pm.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 4/2/13
W, 15-0
Sat 4/6/13
L, 11-5
Sat 4/6/13
L, 4-3
Mon 4/8/13
L, 12-2
Wed 4/10/13
L, 7-0
Thu 4/11/13
Postponed
Fri 4/12/13
W, 13-0
Mon 4/15/13
W, 9-2
Wed 4/17/13
W, 17-4
Thu 4/18/13
W, 14-4
Mon 4/22/13
W, 5-0
Tue 4/23/13
L, 10-0
Wed 4/24/13
Postponed
Thu 4/25/13
W, 15-12
Fri 4/26/13
W, 13-1
Gamecast
Watch Replay
2013 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!