Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 14, Brooklyn 4
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Thursday, April 18, 2013   |  box score

BROOKLYN --  The Lutheran West juggernaut struck again, this time for 14 runs in five innings, upping their two day total to 27 runs and their week total to 53.  Over the course of the four games that they played in the last seven days, LW has outscored their opponents by 43 runs. For LW fans, it has been a fabulous week.

It started last week Friday when LW drilled CCS 13-0.  Then they easily handled Fairview 9-2 on Monday.     Wednesday they traveled to Clearview and shocked the Clippers 17-4.  Last night they rolled Brooklyn 14-4. 

It didn’t even matter that Longhorn killer Alex Sommers (L, 0-4) was on the hill for the Hurricanes.  Sommers, who shut down the Longhorns with two complete game victories last season, was hammered early and often as LW tagged him for three runs in the first, three in the second, and another run in the third before he was lifted for a relief pitcher.  Senior CJ Griffin provided the big blow with a mammoth two-out two-run homerun well over the fence in left-center field.  

LW’s offense didn’t stop after Sommers was removed, scoring three in the fourth and four in the sixth.
Griffin led the team with three hits including the aforementioned homer, a double, and four RBIs.  Junior Aaron Geye continued to hit the cover off the ball, going three for three with two RBIs.  Juniors Eric Szczepinski and Collin McCartney both had a pair of singles for LW as well.

Szczepinski (1-1) picked up the win for the Longhorns allowing three earned runs in four innings of work.  Szczepinski struck out three and walked two.  Senior Eric Lewis struck out five in his two innings of work and allowed one hit and no runs.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 4/2/13
W, 15-0
Sat 4/6/13
L, 11-5
Sat 4/6/13
L, 4-3
Mon 4/8/13
L, 12-2
Wed 4/10/13
L, 7-0
Thu 4/11/13
Postponed
Fri 4/12/13
W, 13-0
Mon 4/15/13
W, 9-2
Wed 4/17/13
W, 17-4
Thu 4/18/13
W, 14-4
Mon 4/22/13
W, 5-0
Tue 4/23/13
L, 10-0
Wed 4/24/13
Postponed
2013 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!