Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 17, Clearview 4
By Emilie Hausmann  
LutheranWest.com staff
Wednesday, April 17, 2013   |  box score

CLEARVIEW --  Lutheran West put up big numbers in a conference match-up versus Clearview. The Longhorns continued their great play on both sides of the game, scoring 17 runs while only giving up 4.
 
Pitching for West was junior Greg Kunze. Through four innings, Kunze held the Clippers in check, only allowing three hits and striking out eight. Clearview scored only one run off of Kunze, with the run coming off of an error in the third. The remaining three runs came off of reliever senior David Pierce in the fifth inning. The Clippers put their first three batters on, whom then went on to score. However, Pierce put the game away getting each of the next three batters out.
 
Along with the stellar pitching by Kunze, LW continued their hot hitting streak. The team garnered up 12 hits and scored in all five innings of play. Coming up big for the Longhorns were seniors CJ Griffin, who had three runs on three walks, and Eric Lewis who also had three runs off of two walks and a double. West’s batters exuded patience in the box, frustrating the Clipper’s pitchers and allowing them to gain favorable counts.
 
The win puts the Longhorns at 4-4 on the season and 2-2 in conference play. The team is now on a three game winning streak and will look to build on that when they travel out to Brooklyn to play the Hurricanes in another PAC-12 game.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 4/2/13
W, 15-0
Sat 4/6/13
L, 11-5
Sat 4/6/13
L, 4-3
Mon 4/8/13
L, 12-2
Wed 4/10/13
L, 7-0
Thu 4/11/13
Postponed
Fri 4/12/13
W, 13-0
Mon 4/15/13
W, 9-2
Wed 4/17/13
W, 17-4
Thu 4/18/13
W, 14-4
Mon 4/22/13
W, 5-0
Tue 4/23/13
L, 10-0
2013 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!