Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 12, Oberlin 2
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Monday, May 9, 2011

OBERLIN --  Lutheran West took the wood out to Oberlin last night rapping out nine hits and scoring 12 runs on an overmatched Phoenix club.  Senior Brandon McCartney—recently dropped to the fifth spot to allow him more RBI opportunities—came through twice with RBI hits, knocking in two with a single to center in the fourth and another in the seventh on another single to center.  Junior leadoff hitter Ricky Downer and freshman Aaron Geye each scored three times.  Geye, sophomore Eric Lewis, and junior Andrew Samoson had two hits apiece.    

Senior Will Wagner picked up his second win of the year, scattering seven hits in five innings of work and allowing only one run.  He struck out five.  Lewis pitched the last two innings.  

After LW led 2-1 after the first two innings, they broke the game open in the third with a leadoff double from Geye, an RBI single from Lewis, a walk to McCartney, a single from Samoson and two Oberlin wild pitches to bump the lead to 6-1.  They scored three more in the fourth with Downer was singled in by Geye, and Geye and freshman Alex Kebbel were knocked in by McCartney’s single to center.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 4/1/11
W, 14-8
Thu 4/7/11
W, 5-3
Tue 4/12/11
W, 3-2
Wed 4/13/11
L, 16-5
Thu 4/14/11
L, 12-2
Fri 4/15/11
L, 12-3
Wed 4/20/11
L, 12-0
Wed 4/27/11
L, 9-7
Fri 4/29/11
W, 10-5
Sat 4/30/11
L, 9-3
Thu 5/5/11
L, 5-2
Sat 5/7/11
L, 5-4
Sat 5/7/11
L, 5-0
Mon 5/9/11
W, 12-2
Wed 5/11/11
L, 7-0
Thu 5/12/11
L, 3-2
Fri 5/20/11
L, 7-2
2011 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!