Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Oberlin 3, Lutheran West 2
By Brandon McCartney  
LutheranWest.com staff
Thursday, May 12, 2011

OBERLIN --  Just three days after LW beat Oberlin by 10 runs, the Longhorns fell to Oberlin 3-2.  With the loss, LW’s postseason hopes ended.  Clutch hitting determined the outcome of the game as the Longhorns failed to hit with runners in scoring position, while Oberlin hit the ball when it mattered the most.   

In the top of the second, the Longhorns were down 1-0.  Sophomore CJ Griffin started the rally on a single up the middle, and Griffin scored on a bunt by freshman Greg Kunze and an errant throw by Oberlin’s catcher.  On the ensuing at-bat, sophomore Tyler Cerny laid down a bunt that scored Kunze, which brought the score to 2-1 in favor of the Longhorns.   

Unfortunately for LW, the tide turned in favor of Oberlin in the bottom of the fourth.  After a walk and a LW error, Oberlin had runners on second and third with one out.  After a pop out, Oberlin’s Eric Andrews lined a single to center, which scored both runs and gave Oberlin a 3-2 lead.  Andrews tried to stretch the single into a double, but he was thrown out by Kunze at second.   

The Longhorns had one more opportunity to score in the top of the sixth. Senior Will Wagner led off the inning with a single to right, and freshman Aaron Geye moved Wagner up to second with a sacrifice bunt.  With one out, freshman Alex Kebbel stepped into the box.  Kebbel hit a soft pop up off the end of the bat and Oberlin’s pitcher caught the ball and threw Wagner out at second to complete the double play and end LW's last real threat.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 4/1/11
W, 14-8
Thu 4/7/11
W, 5-3
Tue 4/12/11
W, 3-2
Wed 4/13/11
L, 16-5
Thu 4/14/11
L, 12-2
Fri 4/15/11
L, 12-3
Wed 4/20/11
L, 12-0
Wed 4/27/11
L, 9-7
Fri 4/29/11
W, 10-5
Sat 4/30/11
L, 9-3
Thu 5/5/11
L, 5-2
Sat 5/7/11
L, 5-4
Sat 5/7/11
L, 5-0
Mon 5/9/11
W, 12-2
Wed 5/11/11
L, 7-0
Thu 5/12/11
L, 3-2
Fri 5/20/11
L, 7-2
2011 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!