Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Wellington 9, Lutheran West 3
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Saturday, April 30, 2011

WELLINGTON --  The final score may not be the best illustrator, but to the astute fan, Lutheran West’s loss to Wellington was possibly the best overall game that the Longhorns have played this year.  Sure the team lost 9-3, but several things point to the growth that LW’s team has made so far this season.   

First of all, senior Will Wagner had a solid start, pitching into the fifth inning for the first time this year.  Wagner was hit for 15 hits, but limited the damage to nine runs because he had much more control—striking out eight and walking only two in his four and two-thirds innings on the hill.  15 hits sounds like a lot, but Wellington is a strong hitting team, and Wagner’s pitching kept LW in the game.

Secondly, LW’s defense was solid.  LW committed only one error in the game and it didn’t even factor into the scoring.  It seems that after four games without sophomore starting shortstop CJ Griffin, the players are starting to feel more comfortable in their new positions. Senior Nolan Grenig is playing a much more confident centerfield and sophomore Eric Lewis is looking much more comfortable in the infield.

Offensively, LW is improving as well.  Today they rapped out nine hits.  Only two players in the starting lineup were held hitless in the entire game, and LW had a runner on base in every inning except the fifth despite being the recipients of no walks in the entire game. Only scoring three runs leaves a bit to be desired, but for a team that was struggling in all facets of the game a few weeks ago, definite progress is being made.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 4/1/11
W, 14-8
Thu 4/7/11
W, 5-3
Tue 4/12/11
W, 3-2
Wed 4/13/11
L, 16-5
Thu 4/14/11
L, 12-2
Fri 4/15/11
L, 12-3
Wed 4/20/11
L, 12-0
Wed 4/27/11
L, 9-7
Fri 4/29/11
W, 10-5
Sat 4/30/11
L, 9-3
Thu 5/5/11
L, 5-2
Sat 5/7/11
L, 5-4
Sat 5/7/11
L, 5-0
2011 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!