Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Black River 12, Lutheran West 3
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Friday, April 15, 2011

ROCKY RIVER --  In LW’s first three games, they received three excellent pitching performances from their starters. Senior Will Wagner in the first game (three innings pitched, one run), Wagner again in the second game (three innings, two runs), and freshman Greg Kunze in the third (five innings, two runs). Lately, though, the starting pitching has been abysmal. Yesterday, sophomore CJ Griffin turned back the clock and turned in a quality start against Black River. 

Griffin tossed four innings and allowed five runs, but most importantly kept LW in the game. LW was down only two runs—five to three when Griffin left in the fifth inning. 

The game took a turn in the sixth. In the top of the sixth, Kunze, who had relieved Griffin, lost his control walking three batters and giving up a three hits that netted Black River a four run knockout punch. In LW’s half of the sixth, they put two runners on in an attempt to get back up, but the pseudo-rally was put down with three strikeouts to end the frame. 

Sophomore Eric Lewis had two hits and two RBI’s for the Longhorns. Junior Jake Dersi had a pair of hits as well.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Fri 4/1/11
W, 14-8
Thu 4/7/11
W, 5-3
Tue 4/12/11
W, 3-2
Wed 4/13/11
L, 16-5
Thu 4/14/11
L, 12-2
Fri 4/15/11
L, 12-3
Wed 4/20/11
L, 12-0
Wed 4/27/11
L, 9-7
Fri 4/29/11
W, 10-5
2011 Coach Trey Lamb
2011 through current
Biography
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!