Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 8, Lincoln West 7
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Saturday, May 8, 2010

ROCKY RIVER --  Down 6-0 after the first inning and a half, the rain falling, and the wind gusting, any self-respecting Lutheran West team would have packed it in, surrendered to the elements and adversity, taken the loss, and gone home to get ready to play Columbia on Monday. This team, apparently, isn’t just any old Lutheran West team.  

Adversity is something with which the 2010 baseball team has experience.  In fact this year has been one of the most frustrating seasons in the past decade.  The team is packed with solid senior players—a team that easily won conference last year and lost a close game in the district finals.  That same team has struggled this year.   Few wins have come easily.  Several games that they lost have been directly affected by questionable officiating.   Often they have struggled to get a key hit, while their opponents have come through time and again with two-out RBI hits.  If ever there was a team that has experienced adversity, this is it.

As the rain fell and the brutal wind gusted through the field, Lutheran West quickly found itself down 6-0 and looking at their worst loss in two years square in the face.  LW had not been mercy ruled since April 2007, but were easily looking at one Saturday.

Senior Zach Hausmann started the comeback in the third with a three-run home-run onto the roof of the school over the green house in dead center.  It was Hausmann’s third home run onto the building in less than a week and his fifth of the year.  

In the fourth LW scrapped two more runs on a walk, an error, and a two run two-out double from senior Cal Thomay.  That cut the lead to 7-5.  In the fifth, senior Mitch Zaharewicz scored the sixth run on a bases-loaded walk to senior Justin Chislow.  LW tied the game in the bottom of the sixth when senior Billy Valletto walked, moved to second on a wild pitch, to third on a passed ball, and scored on another wild pitch.  

Meanwhile, sophomore Anders Mahon shut down Lincoln West’s potent offense.  Lincoln West, 13-7 overall and 10-0 in the Senate Conference, had pounded Thomay to tune of four runs in the first, and two in the second.  Mahon gave up only one run—and that unearned—in the final four innings.  Mahon struck out seven and walked none. 

The Longhorns needed one more run to complete the comeback.  Junior Brandon McCartney got the seventh started with a leadoff double.  After junior Nolan Grenig came on to pinch run for McCartney, senior Ty Hoy bunted him to third.  With the infield in, senior Mike Holick walked, bringing Chislow to the plate.  

Everyone knew what was going to happen.  Everyone knew that Chislow was going to try to lay down a suicide squeeze while Grenig came from a running start at third including the fans, the players, and the coaches on both teams.   It didn’t matter.  There was nothing that Lincoln West could do to stop it.  The only way the squeeze would fail was if Chislow didn’t get it down.  

As Grenig broke for home, so did both the first baseman and the third baseman.  Chislow flipped the bat around into the bunting position and laid down a perfect bunt.  As the first baseman grabbed the ball, Grenig scored easily without even a throw.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Wed 3/31/10
L, 6-2
Thu 4/1/10
W, 12-2
Tue 4/6/10
W, 9-8
Wed 4/7/10
W, 12-2
Thu 4/8/10
L, 7-0
Sat 4/10/10
L, 7-6
Sat 4/10/10
W, 12-1
Mon 4/12/10
L, 5-3
Tue 4/13/10
W, 14-0
Wed 4/14/10
W, 19-10
Mon 4/19/10
L, 10-6
Tue 4/20/10
W, 5-4
Wed 4/21/10
L, 8-6
Fri 4/23/10
W, 10-8
Tue 4/27/10
W, 13-6
Wed 4/28/10
W, 9-3
Fri 4/30/10
W, 16-1
Sat 5/1/10
W, 19-0
Sat 5/1/10
W, 25-7
Mon 5/3/10
L, 5-4
Wed 5/5/10
L, 8-7
Fri 5/7/10
W, 10-0
Sat 5/8/10
W, 8-7
Sat 5/8/10
Lincoln West
W, 12-8
Mon 5/10/10
W, 5-0
Thu 5/13/10
W, 6-5
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!