Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 14, Cornerstone 0
By Mark Fenske  |  LutheranWest.com staff
Tuesday, April 13, 2010

ROCKY RIVER --  The Longhorns are making a habit of quickly bouncing back from tough losses with big victories.  After they started the year with a tough loss to Independence , they pounded VASJ by 10.  After losing to CHCA in the last inning, they laid the smack on Country Day, winning that game by 11.  Last night, Cornerstone felt the pain of playing against LW after they lost to Clearview the night before, as LW systematically took apart the Patriots in all facets of the game, winning 14-0.

Sophomore Anders Mahon threw the second perfect game of LW’s history, facing only 15 batters in the mercy rule shortened game.  Mahon struck out nine batters and got six ground ball outs to account for every batter he faced.  No batter hit a ball out of the infield in the entire game.  Mahon ’s teammate senior Cal Thomay is the only other pitcher in LW history to throw a perfect game.  Thomay did it in his freshman year in the second start of his career.  Mahon did it as a sophomore in his first start.  

Offensively it didn’t take long to see that LW had the upper hand.  The Longhorns put up nine runs in the first inning thanks to RBI singles from senior Mitch Zaharewicz, Mahon, senior Ryan Jones, and Thomay.  

Junior Brandon McCartney continued his hitting tear, collecting two more hits and an RBI in the game.
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Wed 3/31/10
L, 6-2
Thu 4/1/10
W, 12-2
Tue 4/6/10
W, 9-8
Wed 4/7/10
W, 12-2
Thu 4/8/10
L, 7-0
Sat 4/10/10
L, 7-6
Sat 4/10/10
W, 12-1
Mon 4/12/10
L, 5-3
Tue 4/13/10
W, 14-0
Wed 4/14/10
W, 19-10
Mon 4/19/10
L, 10-6
Tue 4/20/10
W, 5-4
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!