Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png 
Lutheran West 3, Oberlin 1
By Kara Villwock  
LutheranWest.com staff
Thursday, October 17, 2013

ROCKY RIVER --  The Longhorns' second tournament game against Oberlin in the sectional finals ended well for Lutheran West.  After a draw the last time these two teams faced off, West stepped up and took the win.
 
The Longhorns had a rough start and did not possess the ball well.  Substitutions were made, however, and the whole game changed. It was back and forth for a while until freshman Abby Huffman scored on a one-on-one. This put the Lady Longhorns up early at 1-0.
 
At half time, the Longhorns were still in the lead at 1-0. Starting off the second half slowly, the Longhorns gave up a quick, questionable goal to Oberlin. Now it was tied 1-1. This got the blood pumping for the Horns as they possessed the ball dominantly in the second half. Soon after, senior Kaitlyn Beodray scored putting the Longhorns up 2-1.
 
With spirits and confidence high, West played with their heads up and kept control of the game. After many shots, Abby Huffman scored a second time.
 
The Lady Longhorns qualified to sectionals after a well-deserved, hard-working win over Oberlin 3-1.
 
Schedule
Date
Opponent
Results
Tue 8/20/13
L, 4-0
Thu 8/22/13
L, 3-0
Mon 8/26/13
@
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Mon 8/26/13
L, 3-2
Wed 8/28/13
W, 9-0
Sat 8/31/13
L, 2-1
Wed 9/4/13
W, 2-1
Sat 9/7/13
W, 9-1
Wed 9/11/13
L, 6-0
Sat 9/14/13
L, 2-0
Wed 9/18/13
L, 7-1
Sat 9/21/13
W, 8-1
Wed 9/25/13
L, 3-2
Sat 9/28/13
L, 1-0
Mon 9/30/13
L, 8-0
Wed 10/2/13
T, 1-1
Tue 10/8/13
W, 4-3
Mon 10/14/13
W, 4-1
Thu 10/17/13
W, 3-1
Mon 10/21/13
L, 5-1
 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729
Email: info@lutheranwest.com

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!