Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png  

CLEEF Awards

Outstanding Lutheran School Leadership Award

This prestigious award was established to honor and show appreciation to individuals who have provided a history of leadership in the establishment and development of Lutheran education in our Cleveland community. The award demonstrates to our Lutheran community the extraordinary commitment of time and talents that are necessary for our Lutheran elementary and secondary schools to grow and prosper.


1987 Rudolph Brueggemann & Rev. Werner Jurgens
1988 Clarence “Mike” Moses
1989 Dr. Erwin F. Sagehorn
1990 Franklin Seboldt
1991 Edward Kirst
1992 Ralph Kunze
1993 David Hessler
1994 Arthur Kruse & Leona Stockhaus
1995 P.J. Knight
1996 Arnold & Harriet Rathje
1997 Rev. George Pohlod
1998 Rev. Arthur Ziegler & Erwin B. Kunze
1999 Noel & Kathleen Bartlett
2000 Donald Greve
2001 Leon Furcron
2002 Martin & Virginia Huge
2003 William Hunger
2004 Leonard Reitz
2005 William Fecht
2006 Dr. Raymond Braun and Betty Pangrace-Welker
2007 Richard Labus
2008 Maureen Staimpel
2010 Mary Giese

2011 Richard Linn
2012 Christa Just
2013 Peter Hessler
2014 Rev. Walther Marcis
2015 Walter F. Senney
2016 Randy Behm
2017 Sandra Baumann
2018 Rev. Dr. David Buegler

Outstanding Lutheran School Leadership Scholarship

CLEEF awards a scholarship in the name of the person selected for the Outstanding Lutheran School Leadership Award to an eighth grade Lutheran elementary student(s). The scholarships are renewable for the four years of attendance at the Cleveland Lutheran High Schools.

Nominations are submitted by the Lutheran elementary school principal. Selection is based on the principal’s recommendation and a student essay. Criteria for the award include: above average academic achievement, good use of God-given talents, good behavior example in school and home life, and proclamation of Christian faith demonstration of a Christian lifestyle.

The nominations are presented to the Projects Committee of CLEEF and selection is made by a blind vote.

The scholarship awards are presented at the end of the school year at an award ceremony of the elementary school.


1989 Jessica Schiffrik & Lee Klimek
1990 Nathan Kenney
1991 Meredith Pangrace
1992 David Dzurick
1993 Erin Palur
1994 Justin Kahn & Beth Weidus
1995 Larissa Petrinovic & Ellen Prusinski
1996 Randy Blankschaen & Peter Jedick
1997 Michelle Bahr & Katherine Cline
1998 George Bruhn & Eve Oaksford
1999 Sarah Bernhofer & Francheska Sanford
2000 Joel Morrison & Rebecca Uffelman
2001 David Behm & William Brown
2002 Jill Rasmussen & Erich Neugebauer
2003 Andrew Hartwell & Benjamin Brown
2004 Leah Deppert
2005 Eric Bednash & Matthew Crow
2006 Sara Coulter & Mitchell Zaharewicz
2007 Meghan O'Hara & Grace Smith
2008 Joshua Krach & Karli Kujawa
2009 Randal Brown & Lukas Hamlescher
2010 Cayla Figueroa & Kristen Lutes

2011 Robert Drake & Felicia Escandon
2012 Carley McFadden & Destinee Thompson

Eric Bednash

Class of 2008

Lutheran West has changed me forever- the friends made, the college I chose, and the faith that I now have.


Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!