Main Office: 440-333-1660  ApplyButton-(5).png  FACEBOOKIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png INSTAIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png TwitterIcon_LWRed_forWeb.png  

LW Athletics to Join Cuyahoga Valley Conference in 2019-20

Ryan Miller | Monday, April 23, 2018
ROCKY RIVER, OHIO-- Lutheran West has accepted an invitation from the Chagrin Valley Conference for membership beginning in the 2019-2020 school year. The CVC is currently comprised of 16 schools and has accepted six new institutions, bringing the total to 22. The current conference schools are Beachwood, Berkshire, Cardinal, Chagrin Falls, Cuyahoga Heights, Fairport Harding, Geneva, Harvey, Hawken, Independence, Kirtland, Orange, Perry, Richmond Heights, West Geauga, and Wickliffe. Joining the conference in 2019-2020 will be Lutheran West, Brooklyn, Trinity, Ashtabula Edgewood, Ashtabula Lakeside, and Grand Valley. 

"Lutheran West is pleased to be joining the Chagrin Valley Conference in 2019-2020," said Lutheran West Athletic Director Ryan Miller when asked about the move.  "Throughout the application process, we have been impressed with the professionalism and collaborative energy from League Commissioner Don Lewis and the personnel in leadership positions at each member school. The divisional play within the CVC will allow for natural geographic rivalries to continue, along with the opportunity to establish new competitive rivalries outside our own division. As the Athletic Director, I am thrilled with the ideal fit of the CVC for Lutheran West Athletics, and am excited for our teams to compete with some of the best schools in our area. Additionally, the highly-regarded group of schools already in the CVC offer excellence in academics and student programming. It has been evident from the beginning of this process that the CVC is committed to providing the best student-athlete experience possible; Lutheran West is excited to be in their company."
There will be three divisions for football within the conference: Chagrin, Valley, and Metro. Lutheran West will be placed in the Metro Division along with Cuyahoga Heights, Independence, Fairport, Richmond Heights, Trinity, and Brooklyn. The Longhorns will play one crossover game a year with the Valley Division, which is comprised of Beachwood, Berkshire, Wickliffe, Grand Valley, Kirtland, Cardinal, and Hawken. 

For basketball there will be four divisions: Lake, Chagrin, Metro, and Valley. Lutheran West will compete in the Metro Division with Cuyahoga Heights, Independence, Brooklyn, Trinity, and Richmond Heights. The Metro Division will cross over with the Valley Division, which consists of Berkshire, Cardinal, Kirtland, Grand Valley, Fairport, and Wickliffe. This setup will be the foundation for the other sports but could be altered depending upon sport offerings and scheduling dynamics.

Lutheran West will play their last season in the Patriot Athletic Conference next school year (2018-2019). 

Lutheran West
3850 Linden Road
Rocky River, Ohio 44116-4099

Phone: 440.333.1660
Fax: 440.333.1729

Acts 3:6-8 I don’t have much, but what I have I give to you:  In the name of Jesus-Walk!  The man jumped up leaping, dancing and praising God!